The Pale Moonlight

Writer/Director | 2014 | Short Film

Set in a dystopian future where the world is dying from a crippling disease, a mysterious figure visits an illegal drug den in the hope of sourcing a rumoured cure, only to be unwittingly caught up in a robbery that could threaten his chances of making it back out alive…

Watch Now
The Pale Moonlight 16×9 Video Thumbnail
Project Details

With thousands dying from auto-immune disease everyday, society is corrupt and broken in the not-too-distant future. Illegal drug dens have sprung up across the country, leaching on the suffering masses that crave a quick fix on the way to death. Howard (Matt Boesenberg) is all too familiar with this existence, but when he learns that miracle cure T8 is rumoured to be at an unassuming drug den, he throws away any moral code he has left and plans to hold up the establishment… by force if necessary. When everything you stand for is tested and lives of the ones you love are placed on the line, what are you prepared to sacrifice in order to save them?


The Pale Moonlight premiered in 2014 at the Fantasia International Film Festival in Montreal and went on to screen at HollyShorts Film Festival in Los Angeles later that year. The film stars an ensemble cast including Matt Boesenberg, Lauren Orrell, Peter McAllum, Stephen Kau and Gael Ballantyne. In 2018, the film began streaming on DUST, a short film channel celebrating the best sci-fi and genre shorts in the universe.


The Pale Moonlight Official Website

DUST Official Website




Director: Tin Pang

Howard: Matt Boesenberg 

Autumn: Lauren Orrell

The Vagrant: Peter McAllum

Chang: Stephen Kau

The Senator: Gael Ballantyne

Old Chinese Lady: Kitty Pang

Wife: Rebecca Elise Lamb

Announcer: Cam Ralph

Screenplay: Tin Pang & John Unwin

Producers: Tin Pang, Jemima Stratton & Tess Meyer

Executive Producer: Kitty Pang

Director Of Photography: Brad Smith

Production Designer: Tel Montgomery

Lead Makeup & Hair Artist/Prosthetics Supervisor: Brylan Stewart

1st ADs: Amanda Eyley & Tess Meyer

2nd AD: Varinya Eammano

Editors: Tin Pang & John Unwin

Assistant Production Designer & Standby Props: Vince Goodyer

Continuity: Laura Murphy, Tiyan Baker & Blake Young

1st AC’s: Simon Morris, Edgar Deluen & Tim Walsh

2nd AC: Joe Green

Gaffers: Mark ‘Turbo’ Thurbon & Nick Thomsen

Best Boys: Mike Roberts & Matt Willis

Grip: James Lander

Sound Recordist: Chris Frith & Dan Rossi

Boom Op: Matteo Poggio

Makeup: Asmara Miles & Gavin Kyle

SPFX Technician: Mike Roberts

Stunt Supervisor: Andy Minh-Trieu

VFX Artists: Caleb Bell & Alex Fuller

Colourist: Tin Pang

Sound Designer: Simon Hanna

Sound Mixer: Simon ‘Slash’ Hicks

Original Music: Tin Pang

Runners: David O’Brien & Freddie Stratton

Holoradio Unit Crew: George Kacevski & Tess Meyer





OFFICIAL SELECTION – Fantasia International Film Festival
OFFICIAL SELECTION – HollyShorts Film Festival Los Angeles
OFFICIAL SELECTION – Lift-Off Film Festival Sydney
WINNER – Awardeo’s Video Of The Week
OFFICIAL SELECTION – Daily Short Pick, Film Shortage